Raven Saunders' gesture on Olympic podium legal, U.S. committee says
CBSN
Tokyo — The U.S. Olympic and Paralympic Committee says shot putter Raven Saunders' gesture during her medals ceremony "was respectful of her competitors and did not violate our rules related to demonstration."
After receiving her silver medal at the Olympics on Sunday, and after the Chinese national anthem played for winner Gong Lijiao, Saunders lifted her arms above her head and formed an "X" with her wrists. Asked by The Associated Press what that meant, she explained: "It's the intersection of where all people who are oppressed meet."More Related News
