United States

Giordano, Kucherov, Trotz among PHWA midseason award winners

For the second straight year, the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association has released midseason awards as its members submitted ballots in the days leading up the 2019 NHL All-Star break. “Halfway through the season, the stars begin to emerge,” PHWA president Mark Spector said. “Our PHWA members dig into the stats to give readers a glimpse of who will be in Vegas on Awards night in June.” Over 125 writers representing all 31 NHL markets filled out ballots for 10 awards, which included traditional end-of-season honors voted on by the PHWA such as the Hart Trophy, Norris Trophy, Calder Trophy, Lady Byng Trophy and Selke Trophy. The writers also voted on the Vezina Trophy, annually determined by the league’s general manage ...