United States
Hide

Rory McIlroy avoids penalty in ruling reversal

Golf just can’t seem to get out of the way of its own rulebook, no matter how many times they tweak it. Luckily for Rory McIlroy, he did not suffer the indignity of a two-shot penalty that he was initially told he incurred for altering the sand in a bunker Friday during second-round play in The Northern Trust. McIlroy had reached down into the green-side trap on the 14th hole at Liberty National in Jersey City to move what he thought was a stone, but turned out to be just sand. He called the rules official over, and after a lengthy discussion, it was determined he would be penalized two shots. When he finished his round and before he signed his scorecard, he called in the head honcho of rules, Slugger White, who then confirmed McIl ...
Top
Bottom